Eligibility for affordable housing

Affordable housing is limited to low-income families and individuals. A Housing Agency (HA) determines your eligibility based on:

  1. annual gross income;
  2. whether you qualify as elderly, a person with a disability, or as a family;
  3. U.S. citizenship or eligible immigration status.

If you are eligible, the HA will check your references to make sure you and your family will be good tenants. HAs will deny admission to any applicant whose habits and practices may be expected to have a detrimental effect on other tenants or on the project’s environment.

HAs use income limits developed by the Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD). HUD sets the low income limits at 80% and very low income limits at 50% of the median income for the county or metropolitan area in which you choose to live.

Income limits vary from area to area, so you may be eligible at one Housing Agency (HA) but not at another.

The HA serving your community can provide you with the income levels for your area and family size.

Sign up for ECC SMS Text Notifications

Customer Satisfaction Surveys

ECC Mobile App
How are we Doing?

Questions or Comments?